Another Tragedy: Sugar

 

 

Sugar infographic

Sugar and diabetes

Sugar is a wonderful thing as long as it’s used properly. Kind of like guns I guess. When used the right way they can be used for good, but if used improperly they can cause horrific damage. We in North America have used it as a weapon against our health. Watching Modern Marvels on History Channel proves it. Their top ten countdown for favorite foods of the US is rather frightening. A lot of the foods on the countdown shouldn’t even be called that. Here’s an excerpt from an excellent book by Lisa Richards. She describes the history of how we got where we are with our overuse of sugar. (Sorry for the quality of the font on the document.)

candida document 001

What are the Origins of our high sugar diet

Sites for further study:

http://www.thecandidadiet.com/about-us/

http://www.mindbodygreen.com/0-4543/14-MindBlowing-Facts-About-Sugar-Infographic.html

14 thoughts on “Another Tragedy: Sugar

  1. I have read quite a bit about high fructose corn syrup. Both frightening and depressing. Michael Pollan gives great advice in suggesting one try to eat only what our great grandmothers would be able to identify as food.

    • That is great advice. I’m going to check out his website. I want to eat that way. This year I will be trying my very best to eat a simpler but more nutritious diet.Thanks for your information. Hope you have a great day Sue!

      • His book In Defense of Food is an excellent read if one is interested in healthy eating. Good for you to set that goal for yourself! You have a great day too. I have been packing as we leave for Jamaica in the morning. Stay tuned. πŸ™‚

      • Thanks again Sue! I will look for it. Have a great time and I will watch for your story! πŸ™‚ Jamaica will be beautiful.

    • Oh I wish chocolate didn’t count! It’s great to be in touch with people from the west coast. It keeps us connected to the home land. I look forward to getting to know you through your blog. Thanks for your comment. Have a great day!

  2. I always feel thankful that I don’t have much of a sweet tooth. I cut out sugar completely for a few months and now taste it strongly when it’s hidden in foods like salad dressing.
    But I believe all things in moderation.

    • Yes indeed you are blessed not to have a sweet tooth. The more you eat the more you want. I am admittedly an addict. If I don’t have it in the house I am much better off πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

