The Liebster Award

liebster-award

I just got finished telling my husband I wouldn’t do the award thing, but now I’m thinking it seems like a fun thing to do and an encouragement to others. I decided to participate in this award process and here goes.

The Liebster Award is given to up and coming bloggers who have less than 200 followers. Liebster is German and means sweetest, kindest, nicest, dearest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing, and welcome. Awesome! Blogging is about building a community and it’s a great way to connect with other bloggers and help spread the word about newer bloggers/blogs.

Thank you Sara at in the life of Sara Sandoval for nominating my blog for this award and encouraging me to take part.

 

Here are the rules for receiving this award:
1. Each person must post 11 facts about themselves
2. Answer the questions that the tagger set for you plus create 11 questions for the people you’ve tagged to answer
3. Choose 11 people and link them in your post.
4. Go to their page and tell them 🙂
Have fun!

1. Eleven facts about myself

I”m Canadian: from the interior of British Columbia

I’m married and have 3 step-children. My husband and I live in Korea.

I’m a phlegmatic, an introvert, and an encourager. I’m a private person, and like things to be calm and peaceful around me.

I have ancestry in Sweden, the U.K. and France.

I speak English, Korean, and a little Spanish and French.

I worked as a Social Worker in B.C. for 13 years.

I attended the School of Child Care at the University of Victoria in B.C.

I hate flying, but love to travel.

I’ve traveled to Korea, Japan, Spain, France, Switzerland, Italy, England, Sweden, Norway, and done a Mediterranean cruise.

I love genealogy and studying history.

Most importantly, I have been saved by grace through faith by believing in the Lord Jesus Christ’s sacrifice for me, so I could go free instead of being trapped in the bondage of sin. I am a child of God and received eternal life from him. I am a citizen of the Kingdom of God.

2. Sara’s eleven questions for me:

1. Where do you live? Pusan, South Korea in a tall apartment across the river from the biggest department store in the world.


2. Were you named after anyone? Your name meaning? I wasn’t named after anyone, but my name, Darcy, means dark or mysterious and my husband’s name, Maurie, means the same thing.


3. Do you have a talent? I guess my talent would be in the area of music. I enjoy singing and listening to music. I also love to dance and figure skated when I was in school.


4. Favorite TV show: I love all of the CSI files series and History channel’s Pawn Stars and the Viking series.


5. Favorite music genre/band: Classic rock. How can I choose? U2, Huey Lewis and News, the Cars, Steve Miller Band to name a few.


6. Person you look up to & why: I look up to my husband because he is a man of conviction. He is able to cut to the chase of an issue and you never have to wonder what he thinks or how he feels about an issue.


7. What is your biggest strength? Weakness? My strength is being able to teach children. My weakness is I am lazy and lack self-discipline. My strength is only a strength because God has empowered me to do what I do. And in my weakness He is strong, so He overcomes my laziness and helps me do the things that are necessary.


8. What is something you regret doing? I regret every judgmental and hypocritical thought I’ve ever had and every critical hurtful word I’ve ever spoken not only to other, but to myself.

 
9. What is your biggest fear? Heights


10. What is your biggest accomplishment? Living in Korea


11. Why is your reason for blogging? I blog to share my thoughts and feelings about life. I want to encourage people and lift them up.

My eleven questions for my nominees:

1. Where are you from?

2. Where do you live?

3. What languages do you speak?

4. Which countries are your ancestors from?

5. What’s your favorite memory from your childhood?

6. What was your dream when you were a child?

7. What’s your favorite book and author?

8. What do you value most in life?

9. Who’s your favorite person in history?

10. What are the largest fresh water lakes in the world?

11. Who is your target audience for your blog?

It’s taken me way too long to complete this, but yeah it’s finished.

My 11 Nominees

Cane Jason

Homestead Ramblings

Shelby Travels

Ultima Tunu

Trixie’s Travels

 siyalfila

Quan Campbell

Luvely Ladybug

dearanonymousfriend

Maurie Nord

Mother Bethel Poetry

13 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

    • The people and the food is what kept us coming back for these last twelve or so years. Fortunately, Koreans like CSI too, so I get to watch them all the time. Thanks Sara!

  1. How did you learn Korean?? How many hears did it take you? It`s exciting to get to know people who have learned a language very different from their own. I am still trying to figure out how to learn Eastgreenlandic, working on setting up a program for myself right now…. looking for inspiration how to do it 🙂 .

    • Hi! It has taken us a long time to learn it. We studied on our own and then after a year and a half we went to a language program at a university here. That blasted us into the next stage of speaking. It’s one of the most difficult languages for English speakers to learn. We first had to learn their script/characters, which is actually quite easy, but their sentence structure is totally opposite to ours, so that took a while for us to get used to. Now we communicate on a fairly decent level with people. They also have online courses through a university in Seoul. What is there for language programs for Eastgreenlandic? It must be a little scarce for resources. Does the library have any books for learning it? What language family group is it in? Do you speak it with your husband?

  2. Wow, that must have been a lot of hard work! I think that`s what I have to learn, to really go for it… My husband and I speak Danish together, altough he`s greenlandic and I am german, because that`s the language we both are fluent in. In my first years here I was very motivated to learn the local language, but I think I didn`t have enough self-dicipline to keep going after I reached a certain (quite low) level. Its the in the Inuit-Aleut-language family group. I have taken online courses and studied with the help of books, but just the official language, which is Westgreenlandi. That didn`t really help. The pronouncation in the local dialect, Eastgreenlandic, is very different, there are cultural differences as well, but there are no books and there`s no standart writing, so it is not teached in school either. But it`s what everybody around here speeks. So I believe to listen and speak is the only way to learn it. Maybe I should finally make the redical choice to stop talking Danish, at least most of the time. I´m also thinking about start recording short conversations and sentences, and listen to them during houswork etc., until they “stick” to my brain 🙂

    • Wow, you have a real challenge with the Eastgreenlandic language. The only thing I can think of would be to sit and talk or listen to someone who uses that language. We find it hard to practice Korean with people who speak English because it’s too easy to go back to English and they don’t like hearing their language butchered. Does your husband speak it? Sometimes my husband and I make ourselves speak only Korean for a period of time. That’s fun. But I think I don’t have any advice for you that you don’t already know. It is so tough to learn languages that don’t belong to the Germanic or Romance language groups. Keep persevering. The most important thing is that you’re able to communicate with the local folks 😉

      • Thanks for sharing your experiences! And yes, my husband speaks the language, it is his mother tounge. So, I do have lots of opportunities to larn, if we set our mind to it, I think… Good to talk to you about this!

Leave a Reply

