Anti Americanism Gripe

We’ve never had this happen before. The hatred for America is scary. They want what they don’t have and hate those who have it.

Likes Gripes Stars and Stripes

My wife and I are Canadian citizens living in South Korea and we have been in this country since October of 2001. Last Sunday, we were walking through a traditional market place, quietly minding our own business and enjoying the sights and sounds. I am well-known to the market place people because I ride my bike through there very often and make a lot of purchases. My favourite summer shirt is an American League baseball shirt commemorating the win of the Toronto Blue Jays over the Oakland A’s in 1992. I was wearing this shirt, on our Sunday walk when suddenly, behind me, I heard a loud angry voice:

“America!”

I ignored it and kept walking

“America!!”

I ignored in and kept walking.

“AMERICA! FUCK YOU!”

I had recognized the Russian-accented English and though I should not have bothered, the Irish in me steamed up and I turned around to…

View original post 234 more words

3 thoughts on “Anti Americanism Gripe

    • Hi Sue,
      It’s definitely not a common occurrence which I’m very thankful for. It was a little strange as we had just talked about the issue of anti-Americanism which was quite prevalent a few years back. Korea has a bit of a love/hate relationship with the states, but this was not a Korean expressing it, so we were pretty shaken by it.

      • I can imagine you were shaken. Scary even just reading about it. Hopefully an isolated incident that you never have to experience again.

Leave a Reply

