Dragon’s Loyalty Award – Thank you to all you beautiful people

A long, long time ago Risty at Create the Simple gave me this nomination. I’m sorry it took me so long to get this done Risty 😦

loayalty_award

The Dragon’s Loyalty Award is an award for the loyal fan/commenter, whether the recipient is a fellow blogger or just someone who follows and comments regularly. Vintage Book Fairy

The rules for Dragon’s Loyalty Award are:

1   Visit and thank the blogger who nominated you.
2   Acknowledge that blogger on your blog and a link back.
3  You must share  7  things other bloggers may not know about you.
4   Nominate up to  15  bloggers for Dragon’s Loyalty Award, provide a link to their blogs in your post, and notify them on their blogs.
5   Copy and paste the award somewhere on your blog.

 

I want to give my appreciation to all the wonderful people I’ve met through the WordPress blogging experience. It’s been so much fun meeting people and getting to know many of you.

I especially want to thank Sue Slaght from Travel Tales of Life for her untiring efforts to encourage me. She is my number one commenter! Sue has taught me so much about how to put together an entertaining and impactful blog. Not that I’ve learned to do that at all but she is a number one model of this.

I also want to thank Pierre Lagace. He is my number two commenter! He has taught me so much about how to blog about ancestry.

Next, I’d like to thank gpcox at Pacific Paratrooper for their many likes and comments about the Korean war and other related material. I love war memorial sites. I think gpcox does a great job of remembering our war heroes.

Fourth, I’m happy to know Mihran. He is a very supportive and kind man. Thank you Mihran for all of your support and your music is beautiful!

Fifth, I’m grateful to have met sf at Untitled press who writes great Korean blogs and who appreciates Korean dramas and other cultural aspects of Korea.

Sixth, Juliann at Browsing the Atlas is my next prolific commenter. She writes very thoughtful comments and has a great travel blog. She visits many USA sites, and has interesting anecdotes to write on unassuming places.

I appreciate Paul Militaru for his excellent photography and his ongoing support of my blog.

I want to nominate Sarah/Marigold at Versus Blurb for this award too. She’s got a great writing site.

I appreciate Ju-won Kang for his informative posts on Korean life and issues that affect foreigners here as well as native Koreans.

I love T Ibara’s blog. She does beautiful wildlife photos. I’d like to nominate her too for this award.

I’m really happy to be in contact with tkmorin from Bite size Canada. This is a great Canadian content blog.

And Aquila because we have some common ancestry through marriage anyway. It’s great to have met you through our blogs.

I’d also like to thank Fawn at Triggershorse for nominating me for the Lovely blog award. Her blog is full of great stories about life and I enjoy our back and forth prayers.

 

 

Seven things about me:

1. My husband and I like to explore ghost towns in B.C.

Sandon B.C.

Sandon B.C.

2. We lived in Naramata, B.C. for eight years before moving to Korea

Naramata

Naramata

3. I like Abba and therefore I like Disco and Motown music

Abba

Abba

4. I played the Tin Man in our Wizard of Oz drama production in grade 9 at Summerland Secondary School (SSS)

tin man

5. One of my favorite movies is Saturday Night Fever with John Travolta.

Saturday Night Fever 30th Anniversary Collector's Edition DVD

6. I have 2 cousins on my mom’s side who live in Victoria, B.C. and 7 cousins on my father’s side who live in B.C. as well (2 on Vancouver Island, 1 in Prince George, 1 in Williams Lake and 2 in Summerland, 1 who lives in heaven).

Orca

Orca

Victoria harbour

Victoria harbour

7. My gramma is 99 years old and I hope she gets to 100 next year!

Me with Grams and mom

Me with Grams and mom

 

 

 

 

36 thoughts on “Dragon’s Loyalty Award – Thank you to all you beautiful people

  1. I also want to thank Pierre Legasse. He is my number two commenter! He has taught me so much about how to blog about ancestry.

    It’s Lagacé… but I don’t mind if you spell it this way because my great-grandfather changed his name to Lagasse when he emigrated to the U.S. in the late 1880s. His sons took the name LaGace, Lagassee, Lagassey, etc…

  2. Oh my goodness Darcy what generous feedback you have given me. I am humbled and delighted to be your number one commenter!. I will add this gift to my awards page with much gratitude. Thank you.

  3. Abba, Saturday Night Fever, The Wizard of Oz and Ghost Towns – I’m right on your wave length.
    Dancing Queen was the first record I ever bought.
    Saturday Night Fever was the first 18 certificate movie I saw at a cinema (while I was still under the age of 18).
    The Wizard of Oz is Christmas for me. It’s not Christmas unless it’s being shown on TV.
    Congratulation on the award 🙂

    • Hey Hugh it’s great to hear we share the same cultural ‘views’ and enjoyments. I think I went to the movie with my mom and I believe I was in grade 5 or 6. I so loved that movie. At the singing room here in Korea, I can sing Abba songs all night. I’m in my glory!
      Apparently I needed a heart though;-)
      We teach English with the original Wizard of Oz movie. The kids get quite a kick out of it. I never tire of watching the Wizard of Oz.
      Thanks so much for sharing your love of these fun historical culture icons! It made me smile:-) Cheers Hugh!

      • I’m glad to hear that, Rosh. One more thing on Abba, and that is, I only wish I could have been there when they won the European Song Contest in Brighton in 1974. I now live in Brighton and often pass the Dome Theatre where they won the contest. I’m sure you’ve seen the clip many times but here it is just in case not.

        I hope you enjoyed that 🙂

      • That was awesome Hugh! I hadn’t seen this before. Thanks so much for sharing it! That’s cool you live near where they won the contest. They were so cute. Aren’t the outfits something else? Love the 70s:-) Very cool Hugh………

  4. I love the little tidbits you’ve revealed about yourself. Ghost towns? Abba? Just awesome. And I really hope your grandma makes it to 100 – such an achievement that she’s lived so long. Does she know you’ve blogged about her?
    And thank you for nominating me! I like that this award has a different theme to it. And dragons are cool. Love it!

    • Hey Marigold! No, I haven’t told grams yet about her being so famous. I will talk to her on Sunday….my regular time to chat with her and let her know.
      Cool! I’m glad you will take the nomination. I’m going to work on the award you nominated me for next. It’s pretty fun putting these together. Anyway, thanks for playing along. It’s good fun:-)

  5. Apologies for my late comment. Thank you very much for your kind words on my photography and award nomination! Unfortunately, I don’t do awards (the kind feedback and comments I receive are my best awards :-)) but I sincerely appreciate the thought behind it 🙂 🙂 I always look forward to your very interesting blog, and it was very nice to learn more about you in this entry.
    Thank you again,
    Takami 🙂

  6. Hey, Darcy! Thanks so much for the nomination and mention! So sorry to say that my blog about Korean stuffs had been discontinued. Since moving back home again and getting back to the busy life of day to day, I’ve been unable to keep up even just one blog, that I had to give my Korean blog the boot (or else the pressure to keep it update woulda bugged me). Thanks a whole bunch anyhow, for having liked it for the time that I did have it. Your blog is of course, always a blast to visit! A joyful Sunday to ya!

    • Hello! Yes, I was looking for the blog and saw it was gone. That’s too bad, but I understand the lack of time. Yep work kinda gets in the way of blogging. Ah well, I’m so thankful to know you.
      Hope you have a great Sunday too!

  7. Congratulations on your award!!
    I have a friend that lives in prince George! And in Vancouver!
    It’s a small world, er big world?

    • yes, the world gets smaller and smaller it seems. Thank you so much for visiting and reading! I really appreciate it! Hope you have a great day:-) Cheers!

Leave a Reply

