Walking in Korea – Part 1

 

Koreans love to walk 산책 and hike 등산.  My husband and I have thoroughly enjoyed the hiking and walking trails and paths in Korea. The trail outside our apartment is called the Happy Road. Isn’t that a great name!

Suyong bike path (13)

Some places we’ve hiked and walked:

Masan – Jung-li

Jung-li is a small suburb of Masan. Masan is about an hour away from Busan where we live now. Busan is the second largest city in Korea. These pictures were taken in 2002 and 2003.

 

 

 

More to come!!

31 thoughts on “Walking in Korea – Part 1

    • Hi Moritz, are you coming to Korea? You will love it. They really do have a lot of beautiful nature to see here. Thanks for visiting and your comment. Have a great day!

  1. I love the fact that it is called The Happy Walk. We should do that more here in the UK and name our footpaths and walks something which brings happiness. After all walking is such great exercise and you get to see so much more of the area around you which could not be seen from a car.
    Fortunately, for me, I have a dog so I do lots of walking with him and would you believe it that he (the dog) has even written a few posts about those walks 🙂
    Thanks for sharing those wonderful photos. They are beautiful.

    • Hugh, the Happy Walk is a great path which we have enjoyed walking over the last few years.
      I’m glad you liked the photos. I’ll be posting more. I have tons of hiking and walking photos here in Korea.
      I’m intrigued about the dog’s posts. I’ll have to check those out. Enjoy those walks:-)

  2. Beautiful photos and trails! I’ve only gone hiking once and it was in the deep boonies of an island. After that freaky experience, I vowed to never go hiking again. But heck, if I had a Happy Trail to go on, I’d definitely go up and down many a-times! Thanks for sharin’!

    • Yes, we have thoroughly enjoyed our hiking experiences here and I just wish we could do more of it here in Busan. It just seems so hard to get to mountain trails and I can’t be bothered with the process. When we lived near the trails I was much more motivated. However, we are blessed to have the Happy Trail, so I can’t complain. The walking paths they have made near our apartment are really well done. Thanks for taking a look:-)

    • Sorry I’m not good with tree names, but I’ll ask my friend. Sometimes it snows in the area those pictures are taken. Very rarely and it never stays long. It does get surprisingly cold here in January and February. The cold Siberian air comes down the peninsula and it gets down to freezing and sometimes minus temperatures. Here in Busan, it’s the warmest area and tempered by the ocean. It snowed once here this winter. I posted some pictures. Here’s the link:http://wp.me/p49gny-4f
      Thanks for asking:-)

    • I’m thrilled that you came to check out my site. I’ve been away for a while, but I appreciate your comments on this post on my walks in Korea. Take care,
      Darcy

Leave a Reply

