Fall in Korea

These photos were taken with a crappy digital camera in 2004 when we had an especially cool fall, which made the trees turn deeper colors. The photos are from Jung-li, Masan City, South Korea. We arrived here October 31 2001 and stayed until May 2005. We so enjoyed our time teaching in Masan.

Koreans love these fall grasses

Koreans love these fall grasses

Korean feather reed grass

Korean feather reed grass

red maples outside our apartment

red maples outside our apartment

the river in fall

the river in fall

I walked along this river everyday. It was so peaceful. Jung-li is a suburb of Masan and is a very small community land wise. I could easily walk the whole town in a couple hours.

Wild flowers planted along the river

Wild flowers planted along the river

Communal gardens along the river

Communal gardens along the river

view from our apartment

view from our apartment

21 thoughts on “Fall in Korea

    • Thanks very much. I only wish I could have had a better camera. I’m thankful for getting what I did though, as it brings back great memories to look at these photos. I’m happy to hear you’ve been able to enjoy a Korean autumn as well. Usually fall is the best weather, but this year it’s continued to be wet. Very stormy today. How’s the weather where you are? I hope you have a great week:-)

      • Apologies for the late reply! There was a typhoon passing by, and it affected my internet connection 😦

        I’m sorry to say, it’s been a very ‘wet’ autumn in Japan as well. I hope things will start to settle down, and that this will be the last storm 🙂

      • We had some of the effects of the typhoon here too. Very high winds and rain. I’m sorry to hear it was affecting your internet. I’m glad you’re ok though. Yes, there have been a lot of storms this year. I hope we finally get some good fall weather soon. Take care 🙂

  1. You know Korea has enjoyed prosperity. I was there at camp Ames 833 ordanance in 1976. We had one brick road in the whole country. I lived in a village called Taque. I really liked Korea.

    • Yes, Korea has had a remarkable transformation even in the ten years we’ve been here. We have enjoyed the people, the geography, the weather, the food and the culture. I’m so glad to have had the opportunity to live here. Can I ask what exactly you did here? I’m interested to know more about your experience. Thank you for commenting and letting me know your connection to Korea. Have a great day!

      • I was attached to a military compound. South of Pusan. The work was top secret. I hiked often into the mountains. I was young then. Visiting with Buddhist monks and photographing the landscape and people when they would let me. They were very superstitious of cameras and having their photo taken, both the people and the monks. I tagged coffee to then and juicy fruit gum for items they had. The people were very gracious and kind.living was very cheap.I had two straw house’s for twelve dollars a month,a house keeper and someone who washed my clothes. The people did not have much money they were very poor.

      • How interesting to hear what it was like back in 1976. It’s a much different place now for sure. We are living in Pusan now, but were in Masan before. I think you were maybe living between those two cities. Hiking is my favorite thing in Korea. I love getting away from the city. Thank you for telling me more of your story in Korea 🙂

      • I always love to visit your blog. My family are actually now in Korea, so I finally have some free time as soon as I get home from work. Will be visiting and bloggin’ more often for the next coupla weeks. Yay!

Leave a Reply

